Skip navigation

louisianasunset1

CLICK ON PHOTO TO ENLARGE

I like photography.  I aced an elective photography course in college back in the day.  My gift to myself upon graduating college was a Nikon F2 SLR, one of the best cameras in the world at the time…went on to get a Nikonos V underwater rig for scuba adventures.  I was given an inexpensive Sony digital point-and-shoot pocket camera that took great photos.  I bought a Nikon Coolpix digital when they came out that was the bomb.  And, of course, there’s my iPhone camera.  My current camera for serious photography is a Nikon DSLR and a Go Pro Hero 3+ POV.  But, in spite of the hardware, I’m not what I’d call a photographer.

Like most, I can take the time to watch a beautiful sunset…and photograph it.  A sunset at sea is pretty spectacular.  When life’s frame is filled with only the sun, sky, water, and you…it’s a pretty great thing.  These four photos were all taken off the coast of Louisiana in June of 2013…while well out to sea in the Gulf of Mexico.

The first pix, above, is a most mighty sunset.  Our sun, almost 93,000,000 miles distant, blazes away as it sinks below the horizon on a cloudless afternoon.

louisianasunset3

Stopped down, a softer slide into darkness.  The sea is calm.

louisianasunset4

From the cockpit.

louisianasunset2

And, an even softer, surreal sunset…my favorite kind.

Leave a Reply

